|
|
|||||||
Home>pathfinders>Maori Subject Help
KIMIHIA NGA RAUEMI MAORI - TE MATAPIHI KI TE AO NUI
FINDING MAORI RESOURCES
Search tipsA simple way to access catalogue entries of Maori material is to search the OPAC by keyword - but occasionally this may produce an unwieldly list of 'hits'. Subject Headings used in our library are the United States Library of Congress subject headings. The headings are very comprehensive, but sometimes have an American slant. We are awaiting the development of a national set of Maori subject headings, geared to the needs of our own people.
LocationOnce, books for lending on Maori topics were filed throughout the general collections of Branch Libraries and the Central lending collections. Now there is also a Reference-only collection - Te Kohikohinga Maori , at the top of the stairs on the 2nd Floor of the Central Library. Recent Maori material in branch libraries will have an identifying sticker - the red, white and black flag symbol on the spines of books (the same as Te Kohikohinga Maori) and in the larger branches the books may be filed in a separate (lending) collection. Call numbers The call number on the spine of the book stands for a subject number, but often a Maori topic will be covered in two or more areas of the non-fiction collections.
N.B. All Iwi histories were once placed at 993.101 e.g.:
Iwi histories are now placed at this regional number - e.g.
Government sources, general indexes
a. Appendices to the Journals of the Legislative Council and the House of Representatives - many interesting reports in the G & some E papers, during the years 1863-1928. b. Fletcher, H. J. Index to Maori names.
Comprehensive index which includes the following publications - to 1925.
A. Journals, Niupepa, etc
Journals
Recent Journals: (in, Te Kohikohinga Maori, 2nd Floor, Central Library)
Iwi Newspapers (in, Te Kohikohinga Maori - Victoria street side, 2nd Floor, Cental Library)
C. Microfiche, Microfilms, CD-ROMsMaori resources on microfiche, microfilm and CD-ROM are all Kept at Desk, 2nd Floor, Central Library, and include:
a. Microfiche
INTERNET LINKSPlease see the subject pages on our website for News, Most recent additions to the collection, Whakapapa, or other general Maori links, including Treaty information.
SPECIAL NOTESMaterial labelled Kept at Desk will be available from the Enquiry Desk on the Second Floor, Central Library. It is not available for loan, and may be viewed (taken to a desk - or inserted into an appropriate microfilm/microfiche machine) in the library, on production of your library card or similar identification. Stack books may be requested from the enquiry desks at the North end of the 2nd Floor of the Central Library. Rare Books are also available on request at the 2nd Floor Desk, and should be used with care, and read only at the Enquiry Desk, on production of identification.
|
|
| |||||||