RARAUNGA KŌRERO - Māori Databases

waka illustration MĀORI DATABASE

This comprises 2 collections :
- newspaper and magazine clippings collected by Mr T.F. Grey including titles such as The Days of Te Rauparaha, Tales of the Māori Raids, etc., Old time Maoris, and various series and contributions by James Cowan.

- collection of articles on Māori people covering the years 1930 to the present day, many of them taken from the Dominion and Evening Post newspapers.

Rohe/iwi mentioned include: Te Ati Awa, Ngāti Mutunga, Ngāti Toa, Ngāti Raukawa, Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Tuwharetoa, Mataatua.

RARAUNGA KŌRERO TĀNGATA MĀORI

He raraunga kōrero tāngata Māori tēnei mō ngā tau mai i te 1930, he nui ngā tuhinga i tangohia mai i ngā nūpepa o te Dominion me te Evening Post.
I mua, ko te matū o ngā kōrero nei, ko ngā kōrero tāngata mai i te kohikohinga pitopito kōrero o Aotearoa.
Ko ngā rohe/iwi kei roto: Te Ati Awa, Ngati Mutunga, Ngati Toa, Ngati Raukawa, Ngati Porou, Ngati Tuwharetoa, me Mataatua.


WAIATA DATABASE

The represents an index of waiata from sources held by Wellington City Libraries, including Sir Apirana Ngata's Ngāa Mōteatea. This database is a work in progress, and in time we will also include the library's collection of CD or DVD recordings of waiata.


OTHER AOTEAROA/NZ DATABASES
These will also contain references and material relating to Māori.

cable car illustration Wellington Local History database
Primarily based around a collection of newspaper articles, dating back to the 1940s when the clipping and indexing of local newspapers first began at the Libraries. It covers a vast number of topics relating to the history and development of Wellington City and the surrounding region. The complete article can be viewed by either requesting the listed WVF subject file from library staff at Central Library, or requesting to see a microfilmed copy of the original newspaper.

newspaper illustration Evening Post clipping database, 1927-1977.
The Evening Post Clippings Collection contains several hundred thousand newspaper clippings collected between 1927 and 1977. It was originally assembled and maintained by Evening Post library staff as a reference collection by newspaper journalists and editors and is now housed on the 2nd Floor of the Central Library in 30 filing cabinets. Use the database to research events and incidents over a 50 year period without knowing the exact date of when they occurred. It is primarily New Zealand focused (with Wellington featuring prominently). more

NZ icon
New Zealand artists' database
This index is a guide to book and journal articles of reasonable length held in Wellington City Libraries on New Zealand artists. At present that means mainly painters, photographers, sculptors, and mixed media and installation artists, but as the database is expanded craft artists, jewellers, potters and architects will gradually be included.

Contact the database coordinators:

Māori- Ann Reweti
New Zealand Artists - Arts Team
Wellington Local History & Evening Post - Gábor Tóth

Korero o te Wa I Raraunga I Rauemi I Te Whanganui a Tara I Whakapapa